Cleveland Metal LP 1983
Label: Clubside Records #: 0001 Country: USA
Info: First compilation of bands from the Cleveland metal scene. Clubside Records would become Auburn Records after this. There are 2 versions of the sleeve, with the only differences being the SORCERER band photo and the BLACK DEATH and SORCERER logos on the back. The first edition (shown here) is the rarer of the two (4 shovels). Comes with an insert.

(bold = exclusive track / normal = non-exclusive track / italic = non-metal)

Side A:
1. BLACK DEATH - Taken By Force
  The album starts off with this awesome raw JUDAS PRIEST-ish power metal song that grabs you right away and never lets go.
2. BLACK DEATH - Until We Rock
  Their second contribution is slower but still very heavy and just as over-the-top.
3. SACRED FEW - Sacred Few
  SACRED FEW's anthem is a decent song with a simple hard rock beat. They would get much better on their LP, and not just because they replaced the whiny vocalist with a capable female singer.
4. CERBERUS - Rampage
  Very cool instrumental similar to IRON MAIDEN's Losfer Words (Big 'Orra). Their only release.
5. JAGGED EDGE - Eyes Of Fire
  Unusual song that sounds uncannily like a sped up version of Hand of Doom. I hated it when I first heard it, but now I consider it one of those classic "good bad" songs.

Side B:
1. MISTREATER - Without You
  Another BLACK SABBATH influenced song, only this time with a vocalist sounding rather a lot like Vince Neil. It might sound like an interesting combination, but I find it completely unlistenable.
2. BREAKER - 10 Seconds In
  A great main riff and chorus keep me coming back to this song. Different to LP. I prefer this version, though it's probably a case of whichever one you hear first will be your favorite. Rereleased on the 2CD reissue of Get Tough.
3. BREAKER - Walking The Wire
  A slower song that could be called a ballad, and therefore not surprisingly is where their SCORPIONS influences show through most clearly. Great song that was also rereleased on the 2CD reissue of Get Tough.
4. SHOK PARIS - Go Down Fighting
  Early version of their classic song recorded with a different vocalist. It's a good song, but it lacks the power of the LP version. Also, Vic Hix makes this singer seem quite bland in comparison. Rereleased as a bonus track on the CD reissue of Go for the Throat.
5. SORCERER - Blood Line
  Reminds me of WITCHFINDER GENERAL: heavy NWOBHM sound with 70s influences, but too upbeat to be called doom (except perhaps for the guitar solo). Killer stuff.
  Keir: DaN: Rarity:  
Submitted by Keir
Corrections and additional info go here. Thank you!