Metal Massacre VII LP 1986
Label: Metal Blade #: MBR1054 Country: USA
Info: Another high quality release and my personal favorite of the series. Reissued on CD in 1994.

(bold = exclusive track / normal = non-exclusive track / italic = non-metal)

Side A:
1. HERETIC - Impulse
  Awesome power/thrash like early METAL CHURCH. Their only recording with singer Mike Torres (aka Mike Towers of ABATTOIR).
2. SENTINEL BEAST - Sentinel Beast
  Female fronted speed metal. More raw than the LP version, and better for it.
3. FLOTSAM & JETSAM - I Live, You Die
  Excellent demo version that features Jason Newsted on bass.
4. KRANK - Rented Heat
  One of KRANK's better songs, this is fairly enjoyable sleazy US metal.
5. MAD MAN - Backstabber
  With stolen BLACK SABBATH riffs and bad vocals, this is a real weak point in the album.
6. DETENTE - Widow's Walk
  Intense speed metal with vocals of Dawn Crosby who later formed FEAR OF GOD. Different version to LP.

Side B:
1. COMMANDER - High 'N' Mighty
  Legendary US power metal, and deservedly so. Different version to LP.
2. JUGGERNAUT - In The Blood Of Virgins
  JUGGERNAUT's attempt at technical speed/thrash seems to clash with their goofy lyrics and less than perfect playing. Later released as a bonus track on the CD reissue of Baptism Under Fire.
3. CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER - Reich Of Torture
  Crossover speed metal that was innovative at the time, but unfortunately led the way for countless crappy grindcore bands.
4. HAVE MERCY - The Omen
  Good speed/thrash like HIRAX or early SLAYER. Earlier recording than the one they did for Combat's Bootcamp EP series. Later released on their compilation CD, The Years of Mercy.
5. TITANIC - The Awakening
  An acoustic intro leads to a galloping riff setting off this excellent epic track. A bit more prog rock influenced than the rest of their LP which is more straight up DIO metal.
6. LOST HORIZON - Troubled Ways
  Superb melodic metal that sounds a bit like WARLORD with feminine (but apparently male) vocals.
  Keir: DaN: Rarity:  
Submitted by Keir
Corrections and additional info go here. Thank you!